Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Auto Insurance Companies

Wyoming Car Insurance

In the state of Wyoming, all drivers who own private passenger vehicles in the state are required by law to carry liability coverage to legally operate the vehicle on public roads. Failure to carry the state mandated coverage requirements can result in serious penalties and expensive fines.

While only liability coverage is required in the state, it is in your best option to build a comprehensive insurance policy that is tailored to meet your needs and provide you with adequate protection.

If you would like to know specifics regarding insurance code, penalties, and coverage options available in Wyoming, read on and learn everything that you need to know. And be sure to use the FREE comparison tool above to start your search!

What type of Wyoming car insurance must you carry?

Every state has their own unique auto insurance laws that are set into legislation by state officials. The state of Wyoming operates under tort auto insurance system, which means that the person who is deemed negligent and at fault for causing an accident will be responsible for paying the victim's medical bills, lost income, and additional damages.

To ensure that anyone behind the wheel can pay for injuries and damages that they are financially responsible for, all drivers are required to carry personal liability coverage.

Personal liability coverage will pay for the medical bills of the third-party driver and passengers and the damages that are caused by you as the at-fault party.

On an auto insurance declarations' page, personal liability will consist of two separate limits that apply to Bodily Injury (BI) and Property Damage (PD). The state required limits in Wyoming that you must carry for BI and PD are as follows:

  • $25,000 per person in BI
  • $50,000 per accident in BI
  • $20,000 per accident in PD

All other coverage options offered in the state and higher limits are entirely optional. Be sure to consider your needs before you purchase a basic auto insurance policy because you put yourself at-risk of having an accident where more damages are sustained.

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance in Wyoming

Driving without insurance is not only risky, it is also illegal. While it is a state requirement for all registered owners in Wyoming to purchase and maintain active auto insurance coverage, some individuals in the state simply do not comply with the law.

If you are thinking about taking the risk to avoid paying premiums, think again. The cost for driving without insurance can be very high, even when you do not have an accident. The penalties alone can land you in debt and affect you long term.

Here are some of the penalties for driving without insurance:

  • If pulled over by law enforcement, you will be ticketed and order to pay a fine of $750 for your first offense if convicted in traffic court.
  • If found guilty of driving without insurance, you will have a misdemeanor on your record.
  • Drivers who are ticketed for driving without insurance multiple times may be sentenced to up to 6 months in jail.

You do not have to be pulled over and ticketed by law enforcement just to be penalized for being uninsured. Many states have electronic and online insurance verification systems that all insurers licensed by the Wyoming Department of Insurance must report policy information to.

Wyoming is one of the many states where the Department of Transportation requires all insurers to cooperate with the Department by providing up-to-date policy information through an online verification system.

If your auto insurance provider notifies the Department of Transportation that your policy has cancelled or not renewed, you can be penalized when another policy is not purchased. If the Department discovers that you do not have coverage, you can face the following penalties:

  • Suspension of your vehicle registration
  • Suspension of your driver license
  • A reinstatement fee
  • Requirement to file an SR-22 with the Department for 3 years to verify your insurance

Why Purchasing Wyoming Car Insurance is So Important

Buying auto insurance is the law, but to some this is not enough to convince them to comply. Driving uninsured can be a costly mistake that will land you in court or the Department of Transportation office paying fines and fees.

It is far more affordable to purchase Wyoming car insurance for not just peace of mind, but also for protection. By paying a minimal amount each month, you can pass the burden of paying for claims on to a huge company and avoid penalties all at once.

Tips to Consider Before Buying Your Wyoming Car Insurance Policy

Now that you know the car insurance requirements in Wyoming and you have learned the penalties for driving without insurance, it is time to learn how to select the best car insurance policy. For some, buying a basic policy with minimal protection is ideal.

For others, there is a need for higher coverage limits, optional coverage types, and other lines of insurance. Here are some tips so that you can build the best policy and buy it from the best insurer:

Get Familiar with the Coverage Options That Are Available

There are several different coverage types available in Wyoming that are not required by law. Most optional forms of coverage are designed to protect you or your passengers and not third-party drivers. Here is a breakdown of the coverage options that you can choose from:

Uninsured Motorist

According to statistics released by the Insurance Research Council, about 8.7 percent of drivers in Wyoming are not insured.

This may be lower than the national average, but there is still a chance that you will get into an accident with someone who has no insurance. To protect you, you can buy Uninsured Motorist Protection, which will cover your injuries and the injuries of your passengers.

Medical Payments

If you do not have medical insurance or you have a high deductible health plan, you should consider carrying medical payments. Medical payments will pay for your medical bills, up to the limit per person, no matter who is at fault for the accident.

Comprehensive

The state cannot require you to protect your car from damage, but your lender can. If your car is financed or leased, you are required by the contract to buy comprehensive. This coverage will pay for damages sustained by fire, theft, vandalism and other than collision losses.

Collision

Collision is also required by the lender. This coverage will pay to repair or replace your vehicle when it is in an accident minus the deductible you carry. The higher your deductible, the lower your premiums.

Roadside Assistance

Many insurers will offer roadside assistance coverage as an add-on. If you do not have other protection and you want coverage for towing, gas delivery, and lockout, you may want to add this coverage.

Choose a Reputable Wyoming Car Insurer

Many consumers focus so much on premiums that they overlook just how important it is to select an insurer in the state of Wyoming that has a good reputation.

There are several different factors that you should consider when you are trying to find a quality auto insurance company. Here are some factors to keep in mind:

Licensing

Verify that the producer is licensed to do business in the state. If the company is not licensed, the Wyoming DOI will not be able to review complaints and protect your rights as a consumer.

Check with your state insurance department to verify the company's license is active.

Financial Strength

Financial strength is very important when you are buying insurance. As a company that offers you financial protection, you need to be sure that the company has money to cover claims. There are third-party rating agencies that assess the financial strength of insurers in Wyoming based on their financial records and debt information.

Be sure to check a company's letter grade before you trust the company to pay your claims without any hassle.

Complaint Index

If you never file a claim, you are paying for your insurer to provide you with excellent coverage. Be sure to review the official complaints that have been filed against the company that you are considering doing business with.

You can check complaint records, trends, and classifications by visiting the National Association of Insurance Commissioners website and entering the insurer's name. These reports are public record for your own protection.

If you would like to buy the most affordable Wyoming car insurance based on your personal factors, you should shop around for coverage. By shopping around, you can find the company that is priced to attract consumers in your market.

Online quoting systems give consumers in Wyoming access to the rates with all of the most reputable insurers in the state. If you want to enter your personal information a single time to comparison shop in a time crunch, use the FREE search tool below now!

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Copyright © 2020 WY Car Insurance